High res RFOP logo 800px.jpg

Each January in Anaheim CA, one of the country’s greatest musical possibilities is hidden in plain sight. Over 100 pianos – polished, tuned, and ready to play – are presented in Lounge 88 at The NAMM Show.

For the last two years, this Roomful of Pianos has welcomed a new annual event featuring spectacular multiple piano music for dozens of players. The festivities continue in January 2020 with two rhapsodic nights of multipiano masterpieces, performed on the nation's foremost assemblage of pianos.

Action shot of pianists (3).JPG

2020 Program

All performances begin at 5:30pm, in Lounge 88 at The NAMM Show (in the Anaheim Convention Center). Sign up to perform.

Friday, January 17

Franz Liszt, Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2
for 30 pianists

Saturday, January 18

Freddie Mercury, Bohemian Rhapsody
for 30 pianists

Arrangements by Lev Zhurbin, commissioned for Roomful of Pianos 2020
Conductor: Kimo Furumoto (Whittier Regional Symphony)

Get in the Room!

NAMM cordially invites pianists from around the country to come play with us! Pianists may sign up to perform for one or both nights, depending on your ability and availability.

Roomful of Pianos Steering Committee

Tracy Cowden, University of Texas at San Antonio
Jed Distler, Composers Collaborative
Aaron Friedman, Make Music Alliance
Martha Hilley, Butler School of Music at UT Austin (retired)
William Pelto, College Music Society
Richard Rejino, National Piano Foundation
Brian Shepard, Music Teachers National Association
Emily White, Special Music School, Kaufman Music Center‎
Betty Anne Younker, University of Western Ontario

Confirmed Pianists for 2020

Nomeda Bach, Lyudmila Belakova, Myron Brown, Erin Chang, Bo Chen, Hyunjung Chung, Alexander Claussen, Cesar Corona, Michael Dale, Nan DeStafney, Jo Ellen DeVilbiss, Shuya Edmans, Laurie Ann Fischer, Melody Harter, John Hord, Karali Hunter, Carol Man Lee, Kacey Link, Kateri Lirio, Christina Lopriore, Sarah Mahoney, Lisa Maresch, Gayle Parkinson McKee, Susan Merdinger, Amy Ocampo, Abigail Olson, Mimi Seney, Rebecca Sorley, Matt Smith, Abby Thomsen